Customer reviews for Adams Golf Idea Black CB3 Irons

Adams Golf Idea Black CB3 Irons

The Idea Black CB3 Irons are engineered to provide the playability most players need with the look and feel they desire. This set of game-improvement irons features heel/toe perimeter weighting and a lower CG to provide more forgiveness while being forged from 8620 carbon steel to provide an excellent feel.
Overall rating:
4.918 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(49 reviews) 49
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 49 reviews
5 Stars
47
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
48 out of 48(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Idea Black CB3 Irons
Review 1 for Idea Black CB3 Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic set of irons

PostedDecember 16, 2013
BuzTwilitegolf
From:Illinois
Age: 25-34
Handicap: 20
Play Frequency: Other
Play Location: Municipal
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
First off, When you open the box, wow beautiful. Such a nice finish and sleek look. Not black but not silver, more like a dark grey. Looking down at the club at address, sensational, medium topline, not thick but not thin. Minimal offset but enough to help. Forged heads to boot. So soft at impact, but a nice solid sound and feel. Cavity back for some forgiveness. On to the shafts. KBS Tour 90 stiff flex. Lighter shafts, I went with stiff flex to add a little stability in my swing. Shafts are not boards, feel very nice. Off center hits don't sting too bad but you know you didn't hit it in sweet spot. I like that the KBS shaft bands are on back of shaft (you don't see stickers at address). Flight of the ball is medium to high, nice distance on strikes. As far as ballooning, only balloons with a poor swing or off center hit. Definitely my swing that would cause it. Personally, a major upgrade from True Temper oem's. On to the grip. Actually the grip isn't that bad for a oem grip. Tacky, solid, I like the alignment lines on grip for set up purposes.
Only thing that I can see a problem with (may not be a problem for other users) is how light the clubs are. Dont get me wrong, they aren't feathers, but would like to feel a little more weight.
To sum it up, fantastic set of irons from top to bottom. Price point is great as well. Adams did a great job with this model. My next set (not any time soon) I will be looking at adams again.
My Favorite Feature Feel of ball strikes
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Idea Black CB3 Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Why are these clubs legacy?

PostedOctober 8, 2013
jdrome
From:Rome,NY
Age: Over 65
Handicap: 9
Play Frequency: Multiple times per month
Play Location: Semi-Private Club
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have never had a set of clubs this accurate or consistent. I have played Wilson Staff, Ping I3, and my most recent Callaway RazrX (which was like hitting a hunk of metal on the end of a stick). I took a chance and went with the stiff shaft. The combo of D3 heads and the KBS 90 shafts let's me hit the best high soft landing of my golf life. At 70 years old, I am shooting between 78 and 82 since I got these irons.
My Favorite Feature Consistent accuracy
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Reply (1)
Replies (1)
Customer avatar
Sim81
Gurgaon, India
Why legacy?
Posted October 17, 2013
I echo with you " Why are these clubs legacy?" This is indeed what surprised me when I bought my CB3s in May this year. Launched in later January 2012 and legacy'd in March 2013. Thats about "13 months". To my understanding its more to do with the shortened product life cycle / market strategies being followed these days...... keep coming up with new products too often just to be competitive enough.
Enjoy your clubs!
Thanks
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Replies (1)
Reply (1)
Review 3 for Idea Black CB3 Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent for lo-mid handicapper

PostedSeptember 22, 2013
Whackiest
From:San Francisco Bay Area, CA, USA
Age: 55-65
Handicap: 15
Play Frequency: Multiple times per month
Play Location: Municipal
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I got the set with the KBS 90 shafts in regular flex. My swing speed is 76 mph. The clubs fit me very well and in only a month of using them, my co-players are commenting on my consistency and accuracy. An excellent set all around. The heads also seem to get through rough much better than my previous GI irons. The durability issue is that again in less than a month, I have noticed scratches on the clubs from normal use.
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Idea Black CB3 Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Adams CB3 Irons ROCK!

PostedSeptember 20, 2013
kgraham63
From:Napa, CA
Age: 45-54
Handicap: 12
Play Frequency: Multiple times per month
Play Location: Semi-Private Club
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I was fitted for these irons after trying out a set of Pings that were 4 times the price and when I hit the Adams CB3, I knew they were just as good if not better than the Ping forged clubs. I have now been playing these clubs 3-4 days per week since July 2013 and I have to say they are amazing. I can always expect a great shot and a precision shot with these clubs. They are forgiving enough to be a game improvement iron but the forged component of the club allows you to feel the shot too just like a forged club. I cannot recommend a better game improvement iron. Way to go ADAMS GOLF!
My Favorite Feature Forged, Perimeter Weight Combo Club
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Idea Black CB3 Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Definitely makes things easier.

PostedAugust 31, 2013
ErockReno
From:Reno, NV, USA
Age: 25-34
Handicap: 6
Play Frequency: Once per week
Play Location: Semi-Private Club
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
These clubs are very easy to hit well. Not as demanding as my previous set. Long distance, too. Wide sole makes rough shots a breeze. Seriously, second shot on par 5 today 195 yard six iron out of the rough and onto green. Yes, please. There was no way I could've done that with my i10's. the ball flight is high, but I love that! Have you ever watch the pros hit. They send missiles up into the air! This low boring trajectory fad is such a joke. Amateurs need height in their flight. Feel is great, too.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Idea Black CB3 Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great set up and Forgiving

PostedJuly 25, 2013
Themush7474
From:Rhode Island, USA
Age: 45-54
Handicap: 13
Play Frequency: Once per week
Play Location: Municipal
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I was playing to a 10 and rose to a 17 the past 2 years not playing much golf and was getting frustrated. I demoed the Adams mp3 and started playing them this year. let alone I'm now trending to a 12 after starting the year at a 17 i am shooting 37-39 constantly on one side of a 18 hole round and prodly to say after playing golf for 25 years i shot my first round of golf below 80 and poster a 76 at a Donald Ross designed course. great clubs great feel, forgiving. and highly recommended for a golfer ini the mid to low handicap range. thanks Adams
My Favorite Feature Easy to hit
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Idea Black CB3 Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Simply excellent & beautiful irons

PostedJune 23, 2013
fnarocks
From:Puyallup, WA, USA
Age: 45-54
Handicap: 13
Play Frequency: Once per week
Play Location: Municipal
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
First of all I am 54 yrs. old & a 13/14 hcp.
The first round I played with these was excellent & so was the second.86/84. Definitely hit the ball higher, which is what I was looking for. They give you enough feed back to let you know when you've hit it slightly wrong w/out completely blowing up your shot. Can work the mid & long irons very well & the short irons are dead on. Absolutely love the look @ address. Relatively thin top line w/ enough mass on the bottom to feel very solid. My chipping has improved around the greens w/ the sole grinds on these...not digging into the turf on short chips.
I would highly recommend these. Was looking @ Taylor made R11's & Rocketbladez...glad I picked these!!!
My Favorite Feature Looks & workability
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Idea Black CB3 Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The perfect irons for my game!

PostedMay 24, 2013
Anonymous
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very recently (just days from Adams move CB3s to the "legacy" category) that I received my 4-GW RH Reg set. It was after some detailed homework that I zeroed in on CB3. And that has now surely become a reason for my happiness. I am not a pro nor do I am really bothered to what handicap am I playing. I simply golf for recreation and fun. I found these irons look great, are workable, have a very good feel. When struck from the sweet spot, I get that very perfect sound and the butter smooth feedback. The irons are very accurate with modern "U" grooves. CB3s are somewhat similar to Idea Pro A12s (rated No.1) but offer added forgiveness to accommodate a wider spectrum of players including me. At this moment I really cannot comment on the quality and the durability of these clubs as I think it to be wise to comment only with the passage of time and play. I am enjoying these clubs! Thanks.
My Favorite Feature "Feel + Forgiveness" with Forged Cavity Back Heads
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Idea Black CB3 Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great clubs!!!!

PostedFebruary 13, 2013
Mike74
From:Columbus, GA, USA
Age: 25-34
Handicap: 10
Play Frequency: Other
Play Location: Municipal
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I just purchased these clubs today after months of looking around for the right type of club for me. I have been playing with Taylormade MCs for the last year. I couldnt get consistant ball striking with those clubs. I went straight to the driving range after having grips,loft and lies checked. I noticed after three balls an immediate difference. The ball jumped off of the club face with ease PW-4i. My miss hits were even close to my target. I was able to work the ball both directions. The only con would be the high ball flight. After one session with these clubs I cant wait until I hit the course this weekend.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Idea Black CB3 Irons
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Pasted on badge is loose out of the box

PostedFebruary 12, 2013
MiCull
From:Knoxville, TN, USA
Age: 35-44
Play Frequency: Multiple times per month
Play Location: Semi-Private Club
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Just got my clubs brand new out of the box and the black "Idea" badge is lifted off of the back of the 7 iron. Adams says they are warrantied for 2 years but with this poor build quality I am afraid of what's going to happen down the road. Definitely not happy after the high coat of these irons. Happiness turns to frustration.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Reply (1)
Replies (1)
Customer avatar
simran81
Electroform Badge
Posted May 27, 2013
MiCull,
I have recently received my set & I've put my review here aswell. Upon unpacking, I made some checks which included the seating of the electroform badge on each of the club heads. I feel the badge is not supposed to be strongly stuck between the perimeter weights and it has to have a miniature gap so as to absorb the vibration upon impact. This is what I found on my clubs. Did you find the badge departed from its position? Thanks.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Replies (1)
Reply (1)
Review 11 for Idea Black CB3 Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent quality, shocking performance

PostedFebruary 10, 2013
RockChalk10
Age: 18-24
Handicap: 4
Play Frequency: Other
Play Location: Semi-Private Club
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
First and foremost I would say go get fitted for irons, DO NOT simply buy irons off the shelf. I went down the St. Augustine to get fitted for some new irons that I could work both ways. I am a 4 handicap looking to shave some strokes and needed something that I could work both ways and not lose distance or feel.
I went into the fitting thinking that I would get the Titleist AP2 or some equivalent from Mizuno. After hitting the AP2 and the MP-59, I favored the MP-59, which was a little bit longer than the AP2 but with a softer feel. The guy fitting me forgot to tighten the MP-59 and he came back with the CB3.
The CB3 was a full club longer than the AP2 and MP-59. With a smooth swing, the ball explodes off the face with consistent distance. I can no longer get away with a terrible swing, but these clubs give you a little help getting the ball in the air. The thing I like the most is the weight of the club. I went with the Dynamic Gold x100 shaft and couldn't be happier.
If you are on the edge of becoming a scratch golfer, are looking for a cavity back that is workable, the CB3 is the way to go! I was shocked at how well they performed. Couldn't be more ecstatic about my golf game right now! THANK YOU ADAMS!
My Favorite Feature Black Nickel Finish
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Idea Black CB3 Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

They feel good clubs

PostedFebruary 6, 2013
Philip23
From:England
Age: 45-54
Handicap: 13
Play Frequency: Multiple times per month
Play Location: Private Club
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Had cb3 irons 4 days not been on course yet because of snow and foul weather hit some real balls on the range feel great ! Hope that is a sign of things to come .
My Favorite Feature Feel and good strike on the ball
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Idea Black CB3 Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I love these irons.

PostedJanuary 17, 2013
JCCorn
From:Georgia, USA
Age: 55-65
Handicap: 9
Play Frequency: Multiple times per month
Play Location: Municipal
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
I have been playing my CB3's for about 2 weeeks so I have in 6 rounds and one range session. I was looking for a new higher launching shaft and had the opportunity to hit some irons with the KBS Tour 90 shaft, the Adams Black CB3's are definitely the perfect iron shaft combination I have ever hit.
They make me think tempo during my swing and the balls are a very nice mid high tragectory which is very easy to control. Great feel and sound at contact and beautiful to look at, as I said above "I love these irons."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Idea Black CB3 Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

"This product is to die for"---Great Irons

PostedDecember 12, 2012
bigbubba1k
From:Bridgeville, DE 19933, USA
Age: 55-65
Handicap: 10
Play Frequency: Other
Play Location: Semi-Private Club
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought these clubs (4-GW) in late October and had been chomping at the bit to play with them. I was a little leary due to the fact I was in love with my A3 Irons I have had for awhile....BUT
I have to tell you they are as strong if not stronger than the A3's, set up better, look better and play just as well as the U grooved A3's...Decent Golf Balls will stop on a dime from the 5 Iron right thru the GW.
The steel shafts are really good ones (Not like some other club makers) and spec out right
My Favorite Feature The way they set up and the playability
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Idea Black CB3 Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

CB3 replaced my Mizuno MP53

PostedOctober 29, 2012
Al1954
From:Shelton, CT, USA
Age: 55-65
Handicap: 10
Play Frequency: Multiple times per month
Play Location: Private Club
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchased the CB3 irons with KBS Tour 90 Stiff flex about 10 days ago and have played four rounds since. Still getting use to their increased distance, but find them to be both forgiving and accurate. The 49 degree Gap wedge is quickly becoming my “go to” chipping club around the greens.
The CB3 replaced my Mizuno MP53 with DGSL R Flex.
My Favorite Feature Love the forged feel
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Idea Black CB3 Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy to hit and work the ball

PostedOctober 28, 2012
Anonymous
Play Frequency: Multiple times per month
Play Location: Municipal
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I don't have anything negative to say about these clubs. The clubs have a very pleasing look at address. My trajectory is mid flight with the KBS Tour 90 stiff shafts. Ive gained about a half a club going from the Taylor Made RAC LT's.These are keepers for me!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Idea Black CB3 Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

CB3s much improved over CB2

PostedSeptember 18, 2012
Glenn35
From:Madison, AL
Age: 55-65
Handicap: 0
Play Frequency: Multiple times per month
Play Location: Semi-Private Club
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I had a set of CB2s that I played for some time. I recently purchased the CB3s with the KBS Tour Stiff Plus shaft. These irons are excellent. The irons effortlessly produce high shots that land softly. While they are longer than most sets, they are very consistent in their distance, something which I believe is a vast improvement over the CB2s. Irons are easy to work the ball. If there is a downside, I have noticed they are a little harder to hit out of the deep rough.
My Favorite Feature The black finish
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Idea Black CB3 Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent and Forgiving Distance Control

PostedSeptember 7, 2012
jwheaps
Age: 25-34
Handicap: 11
Play Frequency: Multiple times per month
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great look and feel. I have the stiff KBS Tour 90 shafts and they do launch high, but it is nice to have a 4 and 5 iron that can easily come to a dead stop on the green and I can hit a low shot to avoid the wind if need be. Forgiving but workable, consistent with distance. Does not feel like a game improvement club. Only complaint is the back of the club can occasionally grab the grass on the backswing when hitting out of rough...and the IDEA Black vibration badge on the back is getting loose on one of my irons.
My Favorite Feature Distance control
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Idea Black CB3 Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great clubs!

PostedSeptember 3, 2012
Matty
From:Vermont
Age: 25-34
Handicap: 10
Play Frequency: Once per week
Play Location: Semi-Private Club
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought these clubs after using a cheap set for three years. Was looking for better control and better playability to take my game to that next level. I just played my third round with them and I am shooting 10 strokes better than I was. I love the look and feel and I have alot more control and am able to spin the ball more consistently. I recommend these clubs to anybody that is looking for step up in clubs without going to a pro set.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Idea Black CB3 Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best irons I have ever played!!!

PostedSeptember 3, 2012
Seniorgolfer
From:Jupiter, FL, USA
Age: Over 65
Handicap: 3
Play Frequency: Other
Play Location: Semi-Private Club
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
To put this review in perspective, I tend to date my drivers and marry my irons. I have played golf since I was 7 years old, using legendary high-quality equipment very successfully. I have mostly played blade irons for the feel and workability. Cavity-backs never had enough feel to be desirable until I tried these. They feel better than my Mizunos did. I knew that at 65+ I needed to give up my stiff shafts, and was open-minded about buying whatever would produce the best results based on a professional fitting. Playing the CB3's With KBS Tour 90 shafts, I have gained back 10 yards and I can control my distances very easily and surprisingly, my accuracy has improved. I love the way they look and feel. I have won four events since I put them in my bag a month ago. Wow!!! These are the best irons I have ever owned. Thanks Adams.
My Favorite Feature Improved distance and accuracy
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 next>>