Customer reviews for Adams Golf Idea Super XTD Hybrid

Adams Golf Idea Super XTD Hybrid

For many years now Adams Golf has led the industry with hybrid innovation. This leadership has been displayed on Tour since 2005 as the line of Idea hybrids have ranked #1 on the PGA, Champions and Nationwide Tours. The Idea Super XTD Hybrid is the most innovative and advanced hybrid we've ever created. Essentially, it is a driver in a hybrid body – featuring a new multi-material brazed construction technology that attaches a titanium face and crown to a stainless steel sole to produce a hybrid with the performance of today's drivers. The performance is unmatched, in fact, the hybrid's face is 36% hotter than a traditional hybrid resulting in higher ball speeds and increased distance gains.
Overall rating:
4.962 / 5
5
 / 
5
(26 reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 26 reviews
5 Stars
25
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
26 out of 26(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Idea Super XTD Hybrid
Review 1 for Idea Super XTD Hybrid
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

XTD Super Hybrid

PostedFebruary 24, 2012
Binky0207
From:Hazard, KY, USA
Age: 35-44
Handicap: 3
Play Frequency: Multiple times per month
Play Location: Semi-Private Club
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
WOW!!! Adams Golf has done it again, absolutely the best hybrid I have ever hit, launch of a 5 wood and spin of a hybrid, not to mention FORGIVING!!! I have played their hybrids for 15 years and HANDS DOWN the best they have made. Bought a 17d and after hitting it for two days, went back and bought the 21d, bye, bye 3 iron (RIP). Great Work!!! Can't wait to get my hands on the XTD Super Fwy now.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Idea Super XTD Hybrid
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

i LIKE THE LITTLE LARGER SIZE OF THE HEAD AND IT IS EASY TO DRAW OR FADE. WHEN I TESTED IT ON A LAUNCH MONITOR IT HAD ABOUT 6-8 mph MORE SPEED T

PostedMarch 8, 2012
Todd30
Age: 45-54
Handicap: 4
Play Frequency: Once per week
Play Location: Municipal
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The XTD is great for my longer #3 hybrid and I use the a12 as my #4 hybrid. What a combo and I made an eagle thanks to the shot I hit with the XTD on a five par a couple days ago.
My Favorite Feature The way it goes through the ground it just zips through grass.
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Idea Super XTD Hybrid
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Idea Super XTD Hybrid 15*

PostedApril 3, 2012
jake
From:Nova Scotia,Canada
Age: 35-44
Handicap: 1
Play Frequency: Multiple times per month
Play Location: Semi-Private Club
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this club a few weeks ago and just got to use it the other day. Absolutely amazing, played with my buddy and another guy who both drive the ball well & on one hole they both hit good drives and i hit my super hybrid. In amazement by all of us we were all within 5 yards of each other. On the next hole same thing they hit drivers i hit hybrid and still was right there with them both,on these 2 holes which i used it we all figure i hit it about 250 yards. So easy to hit and it seems to just carry & carry. I bought this so i could remove my 3 wood and now i actually have a club i hit farther than my 3 wood. I also play the Adams 9064l driver which is also amazing-longest driver i have ever hit. Adams has sure made one unbelievable club in this super xtd hybrid.
My Favorite Feature Color of the head & Mitsibishi rayon shaft
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Idea Super XTD Hybrid
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worth the money!

PostedApril 4, 2012
2011BDW13
From:Northern VA
Age: 25-34
Handicap: 9
Play Frequency: Once per week
Play Location: Semi-Private Club
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Purchased the XTD to replace my Burner Superfast 2.0. First, Adam's makes the best hybrids. They always have so I am not sure why I ever tried anything else. Anyway, the XTD is a great club. Very easy to hit, plenty forgiving, and pretty long. I was able to shape some shots but overall the workability isn't the best feature. Of course just like most weekend players, I'll take long and straight any day. Played a few shots from different lies and didn't have much trouble with any of them. Was even able to get out of a fairway bunker pretty clean. Haven't had it long so I cannot speak to the durability but its an Adam's so even if there is an issue I can return it for a replacement.
Bottom line is this club is great. Well worth the money.
My Favorite Feature Very forgiving and easy to hit.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Idea Super XTD Hybrid
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

really really long

PostedApril 7, 2012
Able
From:London, UK
Age: 18-24
Handicap: 8
Play Frequency: Multiple times per month
Play Location: Private Club
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just very long distance ... I bought a 19 degree one, but same as my 3 wood distance .
Same feel as A12 or A7 or Black super or maybe anyother brand product , but just much much more longer distance .
It is a future product . If i can use a 19degree hybrid to hit 220 yards easily then i have to think about sale my 3 wood ...
(my driver distance aroud 250-260yards)
My Favorite Feature distance!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Idea Super XTD Hybrid
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Ridiculous forgiveness, distance, and accuracy

PostedApril 8, 2012
jakedez
From:Tuscaloosa, AL, USA
Age: Under 18
Handicap: 1
Play Frequency: Other
Play Location: Private Club
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
How could it get any better? This 15* is longer than my old 3 wood, straighter, and WAY easier to hit. I am a 1 handicap and I don't struggle with hitting the middle of the face, but this is almost impossible to mishit. The 4 hybrid is on its way right now. Hit it before you judge it, because the velocity slot on top is one ugly mama, but when the hybrid hits this well, I couldn't care less!!!!!!!!!!
My Favorite Feature Forgiveness
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Idea Super XTD Hybrid
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Hybrid clubs

PostedApril 22, 2012
Norman
From:Montreal, QC, Canada
Age: 55-65
Handicap: 10
Play Frequency: Multiple times per month
Play Location: Municipal
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am a certified USGTF and CGTF Level III teaching professional. I see often student that express difficulty with long irons. My tendency is to recommend that they go with hybrid clubs e.g. replacing the 3 and 4 irons. I have just gotten my new Idea Super XTD Hybrids (17, 19 and 21 degrees) Yes I choose all three to put in my bag. The learning curve to get accustomed for these hybrids is three to four balls before you see how easy they are to hit. The distance is incredible. The 21 degree is my club for 180 to 190 yards while my 17 degree is the club I choose for my second shot on par 5. I also used it to drive on very tight fairways. These clubs are confidence booster. I just hope that Adams keep producing hybrid clubs since now they have been purchase by TaylorMade. I have no reservation in recommending these clubs to all types of players eg serious to beginners. There is one drawback is the headcover that I find difficult to put back on and closing the velcro snap.
My Favorite Feature Distance achieve is way above average
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Idea Super XTD Hybrid
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Hybrid

PostedMay 4, 2012
toejam
From:TX
Age: 45-54
Handicap: 14
Play Frequency: Multiple times per month
Play Location: Municipal
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is my first hybrid I've ever owned or hit. This club is amazing. I've always been able to hit long irons well but as my age is steadily increasing I needed a little more forgiveness and distance, I must say I found it in this club. A friend of mine that works at Edwin Watts sold me this club and I was impressed on the the first swing. You should try one you won't be disappointed. A little steep in price but its worth it.
My Favorite Feature Sends the ball soaring
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Idea Super XTD Hybrid
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very good Club !

PostedMay 12, 2012
Swissgolf
From:Switzerland
Age: 35-44
Handicap: 18
Play Frequency: Multiple times per month
Play Location: Semi-Private Club
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Have the 19 degree reg flex is a super Club very easy to Hit and pretty for giving, im a mid handicapier have tried many hybrids this is One of the Best on the market slight compliant paint on Club face seems to easily scatch
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Idea Super XTD Hybrid
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Purchase from Tour X Warrington

PostedMay 27, 2012
Starman53
From:Chorley, Lancashire, UK
Age: 55-65
Handicap: 8
Play Frequency: Multiple times per month
Play Location: Private Club
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Purchase this because it felt so good at the centre .I was a bit apprehensive about the stiff shaft,but once on the course,wow. It just flies ,so easy to hit , and has a good penetrating flight. I hit it much further than my Ping G 20 three wood and I was even hitting it as far as my driver on some occasions.
I will be returning and getting the 21 degree xtd
My Favorite Feature Ease of use
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Idea Super XTD Hybrid
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

15' XTD Hybrid - WOW.

PostedMay 28, 2012
jay2p
From:Vancouver, BC, Canada
Age: 35-44
Handicap: 4
Play Frequency: Multiple times per month
Play Location: Municipal
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I'm a 3.9 hcp & don't struggle with distance, or club head speed. You might wonder what I could possibly offer here, but the XTD 15' hybrid is 'dirty good'
I was using a 15' FD Titleist 910 Fairway metal with a diamond white 73x for my shorter par 4 tee ball club, but struggled a bit with this club hitting it off the deck into par 5's from anything but a perfect lie in the fairway. Along comes the ADAMS with recommendation from a local club pro / fitter. I was using my Titleist and the ADAMS hybrid on a trackman, and the results didn't lie. Ball speed with the XTD was 155 to 160 mph!!!! The best I could get with the Titleist FD was 151mph. Keep in mind that the shaft is almost 2" shorter, and it's a HYBRID! OMG!
The Adams immediately went into the bag, and I was having so much fun hitting it, I kept the Driver in the bag & I was only about 10 yards behind where I would hit my driver!! This club is SICK long & very forgiving. Never even once considered hitting a Adams club, until that day, bought it & gamed it the same day.
The only downside to the club is it's quite 'spendy' at 3hundy but it's actually 2 clubs. so ... :)
enjoy!
My Favorite Feature 160mph ball speed from a freaking hybrid!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Idea Super XTD Hybrid
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

This club does what it says.

PostedMay 29, 2012
billybob60
From:Cary,NC
Age: 55-65
Handicap: 10
Play Frequency: Multiple times per month
Play Location: Semi-Private Club
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The face and shaft on this club gives increditable distance.It does not however get the ball on a high trazectory,but rolls forever.I do have a slight problem with it overdrawing and need to open the face to get it to go straight.
My Favorite Feature The hot face on the club
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Idea Super XTD Hybrid
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Provides distance and forgiveness. Best hybrid I've ever used.

PostedMay 30, 2012
KatieP
From:Louisville, KY, USA
Age: Under 18
Handicap: 2
Play Frequency: Other
Play Location: Private Club
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
On my very first trip to the course with my new 19 degree XTD hybrid, I aced a 184-yard par three! I had backed up to the mens number 4 tee so the hole would be long enough for the new club.
My Favorite Feature High, straight ball flight.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Idea Super XTD Hybrid
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Inconceivable!

PostedJune 4, 2012
MrBestnyc
From:New York
Age: 35-44
Handicap: 11
Play Frequency: Multiple times per month
Play Location: Semi-Private Club
My three wood and five wood are now off in the pasture....it has changed my bag completely , I can use the 15 and 19 hybrid which are 30% easier to hit and it goes further than my old woods?!? Did I mention a high flight also, please hit this club on a course the driving range does not do it justice, it it amazing!
My Favorite Feature Lands soft and flies high
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Idea Super XTD Hybrid
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sometimes everything just clicks.

PostedJune 7, 2012
Knots50
From:Orange county, USA
Age: 45-54
Handicap: 10
Play Frequency: Multiple times per month
Play Location: Semi-Private Club
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
For years Adams has been putting out great products for folks who look at the details rather than the marketing budget.
The new line of XTD clubs has got to make the employees at Adams feel that all their experience really jelled in this product line and it must be great to have clubs that sold out so fast that buyers had to wait weeks for a chance to own them.
My only hope is that the new Mega large owner does not prevent the designers from bringing us more great products even if it is at the expense of their other brands.
My Favorite Feature Easy to swing, Mega long, Accurate.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Idea Super XTD Hybrid
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Idea Super XTD Hybrid

PostedJune 18, 2012
DavidN
From:Southern California
Age: 45-54
Handicap: 10
Play Frequency: Once per week
Play Location: Municipal
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I recently purchased a 17 degree XTD hybrid and was amazed on easy the club was to hit. After a brief trip to the range I was able to dial the club in and now have used it for the past month. I get get more distance and better accuracy than my previous hybrid. I was so pleased I went out and got a 15 and 21 degree, which are now in the bag. In short, very long, straight and easy to hit. Thank you Adams
My Favorite Feature Straight distance
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Idea Super XTD Hybrid
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazzziiiiing Club

PostedJune 27, 2012
WesleyG1
From:Reading, UK
Age: 25-34
Handicap: 20
Play Frequency: Multiple times per month
Play Location: Semi-Private Club
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just had mine regripped today as I have big hands . Cant stop hitting 250 yards 17 degree amazing think ill get a 3 wood as well now. only issue scratches way to easy
My Favorite Feature Its Long!!!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Idea Super XTD Hybrid
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It's like cheating

PostedJuly 7, 2012
Pacmi03
From:New Jersey
Age: 45-54
Handicap: 12
Play Frequency: Multiple times per month
Play Location: Municipal
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I hit a four iron 190 yards. So I put this 19 degree hybrid in my bag. I can hit this club 250 yards. It's a three wood killer and the best hybrid ever made. Its even out hitting my driver from time to time. I nailed one 270 and can't do that with my R11 driver. I don't know what they put in this club but it's beast.
My Favorite Feature Ball flight
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Idea Super XTD Hybrid
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great hybrid

PostedJuly 8, 2012
Tml812
From:Atlanta, GA, USA
Age: 55-65
Handicap: 3
Play Frequency: Multiple times per month
Play Location: Private Club
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This new hybrid is the best I have played. Easy to swing and is very hot. I highly recommend.
My Favorite Feature Very hot and easy to hit.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Idea Super XTD Hybrid
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This must be the greatest hybrid, ever.

PostedJuly 19, 2012
Walter
From:Bowmanville, ON, Canada
Age: 55-65
Handicap: 14
Play Frequency: Other
Play Location: Municipal
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
When I received the XTD 19 degree L.H. Hybrid, I took it straight to the course, and used it on the second shot of the first hole, (par 5). The club looks very appealing at address, and it hits with ease! But the greatest surprise was the distance! Well beyond what I imagined! Thank you Adams! This hybrid is fairways ahead of all competitors. So, now the 17 degree is on order, and will soon be in the bag. How about an XTD Driver, with a slot technology??? Of course, left hand availability a must.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>